How Many World Cup has India Won in Cricket Sports ?

The Indian cricket team is one of the most successful teams in the history of the Cricket Sports World Cups

Team India’s top reputation in the cricket world dates back to 1932 when India became the sixth country to get Test cricket status.

Since then, after many changes in the landscape of Indian cricket, the 1970s saw the emergence of players like Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev and Bishan Singh Bedi, who despite all odds  led the country to its first Cricket  Sports World Cup in 1983.

Since then,  the Indian cricket team has won the T20 World Cup in  2007  and continues its resurgence four years later with another 50-over  World Cup in  2011  .

With a total of three World Cup titles, here’s the details of each win.

How many World Cups has India won?

1983 World Cup

The first ODI World Cup was played in 1975, in which strong West Indies teams like Clive Lloyd, Vivian Richards,  Bernard Julian won the trophy by defeating Australia in the final. He regained glory in the next edition in  1979 with another impressive performance throughout the tournament.

Cricket Sports

As far as Team India is concerned, they were eliminated from the group stage every time due to average performance.

But Kapil Dev, an all-around player, guided India to its first World Cup victory in 1983. By defeating the two-time defending champions West Indies by a score of 34 runs, the team made their ambitions apparent.

They won their first trophy by defeating West Indies again by  43  runs in the final.

This memorable win marked the beginning of a new era in Indian cricket, which started gaining wide popularity among the masses after the spectacular World Cup campaign.

2007 T20 World Cup

In the inauguralT20  World Cup in 2007, the young Indian team led by MS Dhoni emerged victorious with some incredible performances throughout the competition.

Cricket Sports

After the panic in the initial round, Team India went ahead by defeating Pakistan in a do-or-die match through ball-out.

The Lalchand Rajput-coached side made it to the Super  8s  with two back-to-back wins from three matches after a close 10-run defeat to New Zealand  .

India’s confidence increased significantly after performing better than the in-form Australian team in the semi-finals,  which was refreshed by the third consecutive 50-over World Cup win earlier that year.

In the final match against Pakistan, Team India secured a thrilling victory in the last over, where fast bowler Joginder Sharma defended 13 runs and took the wicket of Misbah-ul-Haq to help his team win the first WorldT20 title.


2011 World Cup

India won its second ODI World Cup in 2011, where former captain MS Dhoni once again led from the front.

Cricket Sports

After four wins out of six in the group stage, India faced a tough challenge against Australia in the quarter-finals. Apart from the half-centuries of Gautam Gambhir and Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh put up an excellent all-round performance, easily beating the Australian team by five wickets.

In the semi-final against Pakistan, Sachin Tendulkar’s half-century and a flexible bowling performance helped the Indian team reach the final with a  29-run win.

The final against Sri Lanka was played at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. Thanks to Mahela Jayawardene’s unbeaten century, Sri Lanka scored 274/6 . In response, Team India lost two wickets early in the form of Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar.

Under pressure, Gautam Gambhir (97) and Virat Kohli (35) took over the ship before MS Dhoni’s 91* led his team to a second World Cup and first win in  28 years.

All-rounder Yuvraj Singh was given the Player of the Series award for scoring  362 runs and taking  15 wickets.

Leave a Comment