The Complete Guide to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The Complete Guide to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

From July 20 to August 20, Australia and New Zealand will host the ninth Women’s World Cup of football.

FIFA Women's World Cup

The eagerly awaited ninth FIFA Women’s World Cup is quickly approaching. An enlarged 32-team format will be used for the event, which begins on July 20, culminating in a full month of top-flight international football.

FIFA Women's World Cup

Who are The hosts for Women’s World Cup?

There two nations are hosting the Women’s World Cup: Australia and New Zealand.Nine cities in these two countries will host games in ten stadiums.

The Sydney Football Stadium and Stadium Australia (which will also host the final) are the only two venues available in Sydney.

The remaining matches in Australia will be played in Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide, and Perth. There will be games in Auckland, Wellington, Dunedin, and Hamilton in New Zealand Nation.

Which teams have earned a spot?

  • • From the AFC (Asia), Australia, China, Japan, Philippines, South Korea, and Vietnam qualified.
  • • From the CAF (Africa), Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa, and Zambia qualified.
  • • From CONCACAF (North and Central America and the Caribbean), Canada, Costa Rica, Haiti, Jamaica, Panama, and the United States qualified.
  • Argentina, Brazil, and Colombia met CONMEBOL’s qualification standards for South America.
  • The OFC (Oceania) qualified New Zealand.
  • The UEFA (Europe) qualified Denmark, England, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

FIFA Women's World Cup

What time do the fixtures begin?

The tournament’s opening two matches are between Australia and the Republic of Ireland at Stadium Australia in Sydney and between New Zealand and Norway at Eden Park in Auckland. Both games are scheduled for July 20.

On August 3, two weeks after the group stage started, it will be over.

Which organizations are there in Women’s World Cup?

The group contains a number of intriguing pairings. Four-time champions USA will face ninth-ranked Netherlands in the 2019 final, which will be repeated.

The match between France and Brazil is also much awaited because the former is the current South American champions, and the latter is rated sixth in the globe.

FIFA Women's World Cup


What happens during the group stage?

  • Both of the hosts will play their respective opening matches on the first day.
  • After then, three or four games will be played every day until August 3 in a true daily feast of football.
  • The top two teams move on to the round of 16, where they will take against the group’s runner-up.
  • The two worst teams from each group will be eliminated from the competition.
  • How does the knockout round function?
  • There will be one rest day on August 4 before the last-16 matches start and conclude on August 20.

The last 16 will appear as follows:

  • Group A winners versus Group C runners-up
  • Group B winners versus Group D runners-up
  • Group C winners versus Group A runners-up
  • Group D winners versus Group B runners-up
  • Group E winners versus Group G runners-up
  • Group F winners versus Group H runners-up
  • Group G winners versus Group E runners-up
  • Group H winners versus Group F runners-up


Who have won in the past?

The USA has won the competition four times, including in 2019, making them by far the most successful team.

Germany won it twice, in 2007 and 2011, while Norway and Japan each earned one victory.

FIFA Women's World Cup

Who has the most support in this FIFA Women’s World Cup ?

The USA, the defending champions and top-ranked country in the world, are the strong favorites.

England, the reigning European champion, is expected to perform well in this competition. However, they have sustained a number of significant injuries, with captain Leah Williamson, midfielder Fran Kirby, and striker Beth Mead all being out.

FIFA Women's World Cup

A recent 2-1 setback to Brazil will have dampened expectations despite Germany’s strength and current second-place ranking in the globe.


What is the value of the award FIFA Women’s World Cup ?

At the FIFA Congress, FIFA President Gianni Infantino declared that the prize money for the 2023 Women’s World Cup will increase to $110 million from the previous year’s $30 million.

However, this is still significantly less than the $440m granted at the 2022 World Cup for men which was held in Qatar.



Where will the games be broadcast? offers international listings.

Leave a Comment